Did St Valentine’s Day Exist in the Late 13th and Early 14th Century?

During the writing of a medieval adventure trilogy, I researched festivals and customs. Oric, the main character in my books, gifted trinkets to his ladylove on various occasions, but nothing on the 14th of February. This caused me to question whether St Valentine’s Day existed in the late 13th and early 14th centuries.  My curiosity aroused; I began looking for …

Stone Country by Nicole Alexander

Stone Country by Nicole Alexander South Australia, 1919. Ross Grant has always felt like the black sheep of his wealthy Scottish family. An explorer at heart, he dreams of life on Waybell, their remote cattle station in Australia’s last remaining wilderness, the Northern Territory. Then his brother Alastair is branded a deserter after going missing during the Great War, and …

The Button Maker by Delphine Woods

The Button Maker by Delphine Woods When the truth could cost a woman her life, she must learn the language of lies. England, 1853. Birmingham button-maker, Cat Davies, has only ever wanted one thing for her and her sisters: to have a better life than her mother. But Victorian society does not favour poor orphans, and everyone is out to …

True to Herself by Barbara M Webb

True to Herself by Barbara Webb What if your husband was unfaithful to you? Could this be a gift in disguise? After facing anger for her unfaithful husband Guido, thirty-six year old Australian, Moira Capaldi resigns from an established career, vacates her marital Sydney apartment overlooking the Pacific Ocean and arrives in West Gidding, a small village outside London. She …

The Detective Frank Miller Mysteries by James Whitworth

The Detective Frank Miller Mysteries by James Whitworth You would think Detective Inspector Frank Miller had the dream job policing idyllic Whitby, but the seaside town harbours many secrets. From a haunting homicide inspired by Dracula, to the cliff-side murder on the eve of the town’s literary festival, these three twisting mysteries will keep you guessing to the last page. …

The Complete By the Sea Series by Antoinette Stockenberg

The Complete by the Sea Series by Antoinette Stockenberg In the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs and Downton Abbey, BY THE SEA is a four-book series that sweeps from the Gilded Age through the Gatsby Era’s Roaring Twenties and then on to the Great Depression, culminating nearly a century later in Newport, Rhode Island, wealthy and alluring “City by the Sea.” …

April Fool by Joy Wood

April Fool by Joy Wood Police Officer April Masters has one final job to do. And if she can pull it off, she’ll have the funds to send her son abroad for the treatment he so desperately needs to help him walk. Working undercover on a plan developed by the Force and the insurance company, all she has to do …